Best Henchmen Countdown

This week, I’m using the Top Five Henchmen from The Ultimate James Bond Fan Book as a countdown. Feel free to add your own favorites.

So, I seem to have missed Monday, but let’s start with #5.

5. Dr. Kaufman, Tomorrow Never Dies

A minor henchman with only one scene, Vincent Schiavelli’s Dr. Kaufman steals the movie, and has most of the best dialogue in the entire screenplay. He is everything a henchman should be; deadly, creepy, memorable, and a real challenge to 007. Like many of the greats, Kaufman has humorous overtones, but that doesn’t make him laughable. He is more than dangerous, he is responsible for a death that really wounded James Bond, which makes him an important foe indeed. I have often heard fans comment that they were sorry Kaufman was killed in Tomorrow Never Dies, they would have welcomed a return engagement.

It doesn’t hurt that Kaufman was portrayed by one of the great modern character actors. Schiavelli has had roles in such classics as One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, Fast Times at Ridgemont High, Amadeus, and Ghost. He passed away in December 2005.

3 Responses to “Best Henchmen Countdown”

  1. Butterfly Says:

    I love his comedic touch when he gets the phone call from Stamper and gang when they can’t open the BMW. He says “this is so embarassing…” etc. Good stuff.

  2. Boromir006 Says:

    His best line: “I am a professor of forensic medicine – I could shoot you from Stuttgart und still create ze proper effect!”

    Or, conversely: “Did you call ze auto club?”

  3. Deborah Lipp Says:

    Boromir, I believe that’s a line I quote in my book, it’s one of my very favorites. I’d use it in conversation all the time if I could.

Leave a Reply

