Humor for Bond 22?

Everyone’s talking about the Daily Express interview wherein Craig hints at a funnier Bond 22.

Craig, 39, says of his forthcoming second outing as 007: “They [the producers] just want more gags. The next one’s going to be a lot funnier. Octopussy and Pussy Galore style gags. They’re all great names – but that’s the thing, the Bond jokes will be flipped on their heads.”

Now, I can’t even begin to link to all the fansites and movie boards and articles that link to this quote. But perhaps I should throw my two cents down.

I’m in the mood to trust the producers. I was horrified by the decision to cast Craig, and I was proven wrong. Yay for being wrong. Craig was awesome, CR was awesome, and I’m not expecting much disagreement on those points. More than just making a fantastic movie, I think that MIchael Wilson and Barbara Broccoli showed us they found a direction for their hero, they are grounded, they know what they’re doing. I think they were floundering, perhaps since Cubby‘s death, but certainly since Dana‘s. To me, CR says the second generation of Bond producers has come into their own. So I’m not inclined to panic.

Further, they’ve re-hired Paul Haggis for script polish. Haggis is Not A Funny Guy. If Purvis and Wade were handing in the final script, well I think we all know how lame their one-liners can be. But Haggis is not that guy, and Haggis certainly reined in the sillies his last time out.

Perhaps Bond 22 won’t be as dark as CR. That’s okay; they shouldn’t all be the same! But I’m not worried about double-taking pigeons.

8 Responses to “Humor for Bond 22?”

  1. Is he the same Paul Haggis that created Due South? Not double-taking pigeons and he left before “Look, Ray – Turtles!” but still Funny.

  2. Deborah Lipp Says:

    Same guy. Never saw Due South, but Haggis is certainly best known for drama (Letters from Iwo Jima, Crash, Million Dollar Baby).

  3. I can’t believe the Daily Express! They never interviewed Craig; I doubt he’d grant them one. All they’ve been doing is taking quotes out of context from his lengthy interview in this month’s Interview Magazine! First it was the bit about not wanting to do all spy films (turned into “JUST ONE MORE BOND FOR CRAIG!”) and now this. No credit anywhere! This one’s less out of context, but it’s not clear in the interview if he’s kidding or not, and a waiter interrupts the conversation at that point and it shifts to another topic.

  4. Deborah Lipp Says:

    Brisco, you’ve got a good point. It certainly isn’t a credible source.

  5. seastreet Says:

    Haggis isn’t (intentionally) funny. The thought of the writer of Crash TRYING to be funny, though, is too awkward to face.

  6. […] Humor for Bond 22? « Ultimate James Bond Fan Blog […]

  7. […] the press junket circuit for The Golden Compass. This one from Coming Soon at last quashes the joke rumor. CS: I read somewhere you’re going to inject a bit more humor into the next movie. Craig: I […]

Leave a comment